The label snob’s foot in mouth disease

24/07/2008

This isn’t quite what Parenthesis had in mind, but it’s something I’ve been dying to tell…

So I finally decided to grace the new Gucci store with my presence. This was on a quiet Sunday afternoon, some weeks back. I’m feeling very classy in my Marion and Lindie dress worn over my jeans. There’s no reason why my LBD should languish in my cupboard, right?

I walk in and have a (sneer-filled) look around. I can’t imagine having a handbag with such obvious labelling: I’m a label snob, not a label whore. I walk to one of the displays, pick up one of the wallets and try (I was trying for discreetly, but it didn’t quite work) to see the price. Five grand. I nearly died.

One of the salesladies was following me around (guess I didn’t look rich enough to her), and was standing right behind me when I was muttering to myself “Why, why, why?”. To ensure I do not look like a complete nutcase, I then asked her “Why, why, why?”. She went into detail about the quality of the fabric they used when I stopped her “Hold on, this isn’t leather?”. “You mean, this is the same material they used in my Louis?” She was very respectful, and nodded a yes. I walked around a bit more, hoping my el cheapo bag’s frayed side isn’t showing. I tried acting tres classy, as though I were Audrey Hepburn.

She asked if there’s anything I would like to look at, but I declined. I told her I’m just looking; I’ve been meaning to come inside the store to browse ever since they opened, but I will never, ever buy Gucci. I tried to look as full of disdain as possible.

The sales assistant was shocked, and I can understand why. Gucci is an uber-luxury brand. I tell her “Oh god, everyone’s got Gucci. I don’t want something everyone has.” I take another walk through the store, and leave.

It’s only later on that I remember: not everyone has Gucci; everyone I know have Guess. There’s a tiny, tiny difference: Gucci is luxe; Guess isn’t. And I’ve been confusing Gucci with Guess. It’s so easy, I mean, their names both start with a G…

8 Responses to “The label snob’s foot in mouth disease”

  1. expensivemistakescheapthrills Says:

    fuck that. the bitch in the store doesn’t know that you mixed labels up…after all, she only WORKS in the store.

    You sounded super-uber-snobby to me ‘oh everyone has gucci’.

    ouch for her!

  2. callith Says:

    ha ha ha

    Yeah, I know she doesn’t know, but eish, I felt like a ‘tard later on when I walked past the Guess store and realised I mixed up the labels.

  3. Goblin Says:

    Hahahah that’s funny as hell man, I would have loved to have seen her face!

    If I was rolling in dough I’d still buy it 😦

  4. callith Says:

    Oh, but me, too, Goblin. Now that I realise Gucci is an uber-luxury brand, I want it. Disgusting, hey? But I’ll have to save up for two months to afford one measly wallet. 😦


  5. LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

    That’s priceless.

    They ARE similar though, the logos.. but Gucci looks more like a square with dots I guess.. I dunno

    I’m so linkin this

  6. callith Says:

    Yeah, I’m just not very knowledgeable about labels. I know a Louis, but I wouldn’t recognise a Fendi or a Marc or a Chloe.

    Oy.

  7. Caz Says:

    HAHAHA that is fantastic!!! I love how the sales people can sometimes be so snobby in those stores when SERIOUSLY, they are in STORE SALES!!!

  8. callith Says:

    Yeah, Caz, you’re so right. They’re probably getting paid R20 an hour if they’re lucky… So I’m not really sure just why I felt so inferior to her…

Leave a Reply

