I’m not lonely, but…

21/03/2008

I neglected to mention, your entourage is welcome,

Why does this bother me so very much? The fact that I do not have a close-knit circle of friends, as popularised by most television programmes, including SATC, Friends and most other random television shows.

I’d love to have a smallish circle of nerdy yet glamorous friends. A smallish circle of friends whom to meet for breakfast on a Saturday and not everyday as in SATC. Friends I can rely on not to cancel Friday drinks, and friends who would like to travel with me to Mozambique next month (Yeah, I might be going).

I’ve always been a loner. Is it not time to learn that I will always be a loner? People just don’t “get” me. And I don’t get them. But this means that I am always doing things alone. It’s nice, up to a point.

Sure, it could be advantageous, I shall not argue with that. I don’t have to wait for anyone’s approval to do something. If I want to go to the Aquarium, I can. If I desperately need that cup of Java, I can walk down the road and get plastered on caffeine. Had Balkanology stayed at the original venue, I would’ve gone. Alone. That’s the best way to meet people. Problem is, who will take photos of you that can grace your MyFace page the next day?

At one stage, in late 2006, I had that circle of friends. We would all hang out together, but this didn’t last long. They weren’t my ideal circle of friends, though they fulfilled that need as best they could. But it was fun to feel trendy and, here’s the thing, wanted and recognised.

7 Responses to “I’m not lonely, but…”

  1. ifoundme Says:

    hmmm…. you know what? i want to be alone sometimes. i have several circle of friends and sometimes i do have problems making them fit in my schedule. at some point, i want to hide from them. not that i’m avoiding them.. it’s just that sometimes being alone has its perks too. maybe we should exchange lives for a day. LOL! πŸ™‚

  2. callith Says:

    Hey, ifoundme

    I think you should learn to say “no” more often, and I should learn that it’s ok to ask friends what they’re doing and if I may hang out with them.

    I just don’t do that. I’m having a look at your blog now. πŸ˜‰

  3. ifoundme Says:

    thanks! there’s no problem saying no. sometimes i just like being alone. πŸ™‚

  4. callith Says:

    Yeah, same here. Especially coming home from work, it’s nice to relax and play some music by my lonesome.

    But it gets old, after a while. 😦

  5. Goblin Says:

    Oh I know what you mean. I actually cannot find friends who really get me as you said. I mean, on one side I’ve got psycho friends who want to do something every weekend which is not what I want especially since I don’t really mesh that well with them. I like the Boyf and I just having our quiet weekends and evenings of being losers and doing nothing, but every now and then it would be nice to have friends who you can call up once a month and do something random that you both enjoy without being guilt tripped for not calling more often.

  6. callith Says:

    Yeah. My biggest gripe, though, is friends who are just too busy. I have to “book” them weeks in advance. Argh.

    I don’t mind being a loser, but fuck, sometimes it gets pathetic.

  7. Lee Says:

    I wish… Maybe you could find more people like yourself on here and meet up πŸ™‚

    I think it only happens in TV

Leave a Reply

