How to look like a retard

14/03/2008

(No offense meant to actual retards reading this)

Spending a quiet Sunday with the newspapers is just not the same when one is distracted by mediocre copy.

Where’s the apostrophe? Surely they missed an apostrophe?

I might be wrong, but I’m pretty sure breathtaking is one word.

Not nearly as bad, but I would prefer them writing three, and not 3. But space is tight, so…

But at least they’re not as bad as their baby publication, The Times. And I’m very sorry to say this, but it’s mostly black journos who commit these foul mistakes. Then they blame their incompetence on English being their third language. Yes, I am referring to the former O Magazine editor. Sorry, that’s no fucking excuse. If you want to make it in the big, bad world of English journalism (even if it is Women24 – LOL), you need to feel comfortable writing in it.

It makes me wonder where the fucking sub-editors are? Lalita is a journo, and she doesn’t know the difference between comedienne and comedian. Didn’t even know comedienne is a word. Fuck me.

It’s really not difficult. Read. Read. Read. Read more. Read even more. Read The New York Times. Read. Read more. And then write. Write more. Write until you’re fucking blue. In the face. Edit. Edit some more and give to sub-editor who will check for any misplaced apostrophes or umlauts. Or whatever.

See, this is what happens when journos are the ones who spend four years reading Jane Austen instead of getting practical skills, or reading Eats Shoots and Leaves.

7 Responses to “How to look like a retard”

  1. Leigh-Anne Says:

    I think you and I will never, ever get tired of bitching about this topic… Never, ever…

    I mean, really Tarah, it’s not that bloody difficult!

  2. damyantig Says:

    While the point you make is pretty straightforward, I don’t see the need to use the “f…” word with such gay abandon. No offense meant to actual gays.

    http://amloki.blogspot.com
    http://damyantiwrites.wordpress.com

  3. callith Says:

    ‘Tis my fucking blog and I shall use the fucking fuck word if I fucking want to. Now, if you don’t fucking like me using the fucking fuck word, then you might as well fucking fuck off.

  4. callith Says:

    Yeah, Leigh-Anne, ’tis so fucking true. I do love bitching about this topic. And I see you mastered the fineart of HTML on WordPress.

    *Hands Leigh-Anne a badge of honour and pinches her cheek*

  5. damyantig Says:

    I could have said a lot of things to what you have said, but I guess I am just nice.

    Anyway, wish you luck in your blog and in your life.

  6. callith Says:

    Hi, Damyantig

    Perhaps I was a little mean. Point is, this is my blog. Right? I’m allowed to vent and shout and pillage on my blog.

    I don’t want to have to apologize for using fuck as a verb or a noun or a split infinitive (not sure if it’s possible, but I’ll have a go at it).

    If you’re not comfortable with that, I suggest you read some other prim and proper blog, not mine.

    If you can stomach the occasional cuss word, then feel free to read my blog! I’m really nice, actually.

  7. damyantig Says:

    Hi Callith,

    I actually liked the point you made in your post. And yes, it is your blog, and you are allowed to vent.

    I would like to say two things however.

    First, if you’d used the “f…” word once in the whole post, it would have had much more power and emphasis.But you use it 3 times in 6 lines, killing the effect. “Occassional” cuss words are fine, and they actually express a sentiment no other sort of words can.

    But too much of anything, even primness for that matter, is obviously overkill.

    Second: granted, it is your blog. But you have put it in the public domain, which suggests that you expect others to read it. You don’t have to apologize for what you say here, but you don’t really have to make it particularly unpleasant either.

    Unpleasantness when it forces others to give a second thought to an issue is great in a public domain, but unpleasantness which merely provokes distaste can be avoided.

    I could have passed by your blog the first time without taking the time to comment, but I did because I saw the potential in your writing. The post is an angry rant right now, but it can easily become a delightfully acerbic commentary:)

    Of course, I also thought that underneath it all you Are really nice, and I am happy to see that I was right.

Leave a Reply

