One of my crazy made up scenarios

18/02/2008

FADE-IN EXT. LOLA’s LONG STREET – MEDIUM SHOT – TARAH & VICTOR – DAY

TARAH 25, is reading the Sunday Times and the latest copy of Elle.

VICTOR 29, is reading Being and Nothingness

CLOSE-UP – Being and Nothingness

WIDE-SHOT – LOLA’s

We HEAR the noisy surroundings of the quaint little Veg out in Long Street. There is screaming coming from the kitchen. It sounds like a young woman screaming at a younger member of staff.

TARAH

(She looks up from Dion’s column, close the magazine hurriedly and opens the Sunday Times Lifestyle section again)

Good god! What the hell is happening?

VICTOR

Hmm? I don’t know, skat. Sounds like a very angry woman screaming to me

TARAH

(Raises her left eyebrow)

What’s that supposed to mean?

VICTOR

(smiles, and ruffles her hair)

Nothing, nothing. I was just saying, skat.

TARAH

(klaps his hand away from her curly hair, and then smiles)

Hey, hey, don’t do that. My hair’s curly, you know?

CUTAWAY

We see a youngish girl walking towards Tarah and Victor’s table. She appears at ease, and admiring her surroundings. She receives a phone call and stalls for a minute.

She chats in this fashion until she sees Tarah’s hair and her shoes. She takes a closer look at Tarah’s handbag and clasps her hand to her mouth.

NEW GIRL AKA GOBLIN TALK

Bye, darling. I’ll chat to you later, ok?

(Mutters to herself)

This is so weird. That chick, that blogger, er, what’s her name, Tarah … Tarah did actually mention she is sporting pwetty curls today. Could it be her? And that handbag? It’s so … Tarah! The shoes? OMG. Can only be Tarah’s skanky red shoes.

(She takes another step closer to the table)

(Still muttering to herself)

Should I introduce myself? Fuckit, what if it isn’t her? What if it’s Victor?I wouldn’t want him to know I am Goblin Talk and give her game away.

(She tells herself she will certainly collapse right there if she doesn’t know who it is and walks up to the table)

NEW GIRL AKA GOBLIN TALK

(She looks directly at Tarah.)

Excuse me, I just wanted to say that’s a fabulous bag you’ve got.

TARAH

(Breaks into one of her winning smiles and strokes the bag absentmindedly)

Oooooh! Thank you! I got it at Mischka’s in the Boabab Mall. She’s got the most amazing stuff.

GOBLIN TALK

(Plays with her hair, fascinated)

Really?

VICTOR

(He is still engrossed in his book, but looks at the handbag semi-interestedly)

I don’t really understand the fuss about lip gloss and handbags. Never mind high heels

(He points to Tarah’s skanky red shoes)

TARAH

(waves her hands around and gives him a playful punch on his shoulder and then takes a sip of her tea)

GOBLIN TALK

Well, anyway. I just wanted to say I love your shoes. They’re so very … IA&Y, if you know what I mean.

TARAH

(Choking on her tea. Then regains some self-control and sips elegantly)

What do you mean?

(Her eyes widen as much as they can)

GOBLIN TALK

And my name is GT, short for “you know what”.

TARAH

(Face relaxes and she regains some modicum of self-control over the choking)

LOL

GOBLIN TALK

LOL

VICTOR

(Puts down the book and crosses his legs)

Let me guess: you read each other’s blogs, right?

TARAH

(Looks flummoxed, unsure of what to do)

Ummm… yeah, I guess you can say so.

GOBLIN TALK

(Looks equally stumped)

I’m sorry, I didn’t want to [and here she uses her fingers to indicate inverted commas] get you into trouble.

TARAH

(Laughs her wicked witch of the East laugh)

Oh god no! Don’t worry about that Gob.. I mean GT.

VICTOR

I like how you both use LOL as though it’s an actual word. And don’t worry, I won’t even know how to search for your blogs

TARAH & GOBLIN TALK

LOL

And this is where the scenario stops, I’m sorry to say. I just had to get that out of my brain, btw. LOL

4 Responses to “One of my crazy made up scenarios”

  1. Goblin Says:

    I’m intrigued darling, I really am. Had a good laugh though! I really must make a note to look for the skanky red shoes from now on šŸ˜‰

  2. callith Says:

    He he he

    I’m glad you had a laugh! I might be buying some pwetty black shoes today… They’re damn expensive, though. R300

  3. Leigh-Anne Says:

    I happen to be rather well acquainted with these red shoes… And I must say they’re actually the classiest skanky red shoes I’ve ever seen!

  4. callith Says:

    LOL

    Yeah, they’re pretty cool. Thanks, darling!

Leave a Reply

