Back off, or else

11/02/2008

It was Lalita’s birthday yesterday, so she invited me and 8 934 378 other Capetonians to partay. At first, I didn’t think I’ll go; it’s exactly two weeks before pay day arrives again… and I’m practically broke.

At around 8pm , I get an sms from one of our mutual friends, let’s call her Alice. She wants to know if I’m going. I tell her, “Nah, I don’t have a lift, and I’m very broke.”

She offers to give me a lift to the partay, so we go.

After the initial introductions, we sit down – me with a veeeeeeery expensive Johnny Black: R10 more than the average price in town – and get to talking to everyone around.

Now, Lalita and Alice are both quite religious. Lalita is probably more religious than Alice, but is not as much of a Bible-basher.

So, somehow, the topic of religion got brought up and Alice mentions, in a condescending (or perhaps I was just feeling fragile, hence I thought it was rather condescending) voice that I’m an atheist. I immediately got rather defensive. It’s not the first time that she pokes fun at me for not believing. At first I joked about it, but then I got serious: “Alice, I’m gonna moer you if you say something like that again!”

Now, Alice isn’t fazed by many things, but she paled (just slightly) when I said that. Which is funny, because I have never been in a fight, ever! I wouldn’t know what to do…

But what I find so horrible is that they are allowed to mock us for not believing, yet we’re not allowed to do the same. They see their jokes as freedom of speech, but we’re not allowed to make any jokes about religious people, or about being religious.

The weirdest thing is that the girl we were in conversation with, Tracey, could possibly be described as a closet agnostic. Me and Tracey got along excellently much later on, talking about relationships and religion and … stuff such as art exhibitions, et cetera.

But I was a little freaked out by Tracey (I must’ve been feeling very fragile, or very drunk) because somehow she knew that Victor didn’t have access to a car and wasn’t really surprised when I told her his car will soon be fixed.

I dunno, but it really freaked me out. It’s as though she knew him, but didn’t want to let on that she does. Eeeek. I’m being paranoid again. I hope.

6 Responses to “Back off, or else”

  1. Lee Says:

    I don’t see what is so funny about not believing in something you cant see… I do think its funny that people believe in this though.

    Don’t get me started on the whole religion thing though πŸ˜›

    Maybe it was the drink… But if i was you I’d trust your instincts.

  2. dustin sweep Says:

    very very nice post. I like it a lot. I think you are totally right about the religion stuff even though i do believe in God.
    Love the way you write and it’s very entertaining πŸ™‚
    have a nice day

  3. callith Says:

    @ Lee: I’m fucking paranoid… perhaps that’s it. πŸ˜‰

    @ Dustin: Merci beaucoup. Kisses.

  4. Goblin Says:

    I got an awesome quote from a friend earlier that is perfect for us little atheists.

    “A society without religion is like a maniac without a chainsaw”.

  5. callith Says:

    Fucking awesome, Goblin!

    I’ll remember that one.


  6. […] Although it is very satisfying to come home and not to have anything to do: no art exhibition opening to attend, no book launch to mingle at and no Christian birthday partay to suffer through. […]

Leave a Reply

