On my defects

14/01/2008

I wasn’t bored at work. I had more than enough to keep me occupied, especially those articles I never finished last year. remember those, Tarah? Hmmmm.

So I must’ve been feeling very acreative, as I spent most of today trawling the interwebs. I did searches on many, many people. I spent hours looking at Victor’s Facebook profile and spent even longer looking at his friends’ profiles. There’s one horsey looking crazy in particular whose profile I always check out. I don’t know why I do it… But she did used to have a crush on him, so I need to make sure she does nothing blasphemous.

So I decided to google his surname. His surname is not very common in South Africa. His father’s family is Dutch. I found oodles and oodles of dirt on his family! Now I even know what his mother looks like. I’m pretty sure she is the lady whose picture I found on the university’s website. It would just be too much of a coincidence.

I think his little brother is just adorable! And his younger sister, Catherine, is gorgeous and clever to boot. His dad’s name sounds very typical Afrikaans, I’m surprised to note. Of course, I’m not supposed to know what any of them look like. Or that almost everyone in his family is actively involved in a certain South African university’s activities. He doesn’t exactly gush over his family and I don’t think I’ll be introduced anytime soon.

I’m sure it’s because his family is a very academic one and I am … what am I again? Not academic. I mean, imagine his mom’s shock when he introduces me:

Victor: “Mom, this is Tarah, she’s a copywriter.”

His mom: “Oh, hi Tarah! Did you study at AAA? My younger sister’s daughter is a student there.”

Victor looks worried, I’m flummoxed that he didn’t tell his mother about my … defects.

Me: “No, ma’am, I didn’t study at AAA. In fact, I started working straight after school and only recently became a copywriter.”

His mom: “well, that is rather unusual but to each his own, I say. Victor, where did you put that pot I asked you to fetch me?”

And with that, I am dismissed as not being good enough for her eldest son who is on his way to becoming a professor, y’all.

Lucky me!

3 Responses to “On my defects”

  1. Goblin Says:

    Sounds like a re-write of the Monster In Law script. They’re probably lovely people though?? I mean, surely.

  2. callith Says:

    I wouldn’t know, I didn’t see the movie… They’re just so very academic!! I’m worried already…


  3. […] am } · { Domestic Life, Musings } { Tags: mother-in-laws } So I was reading a post over at I am You yesterday and it got me […]

Leave a Reply

