Naming and shaming

19/12/2007

While having a walk today, I thought of all the men in my life or all the men who have been part of my life in the last year or so. There is one I am leaving out intentionally. He hurt me the most and I would rather just forget about him if that’s ok.

The ex: We shall call him Toby. We dated for a very long time. On and off, on and off, constantly. Never-ending. Fuck! Finally broke up again in October, I think. We still speak, but not very frequently. We stayed together as well and I finally kicked him out last week.

The busy executive: Let’s call him Uri. We met off a semi well-known site. He’s married, with 2.2 kids, a suburban existence and a rather hectic lifestyle. Fabulous conversationalist. I think he’s adorable, but I feel guilty… He’s a dom, which is fine. I like it, however, I think he takes it one, possibly two, steps too far.

The lover: Hmmm. Gareth suits him well. We met ages ago, when I was still waitressing, though nothing ever happened back then. Only after I left the restaurant, did we hook up. He gave me my first taste of wickedly intense sex. Problem is that he has a long distance girlfriend.

The minor celebrity: He doesn’t really belong here, but let’s call him Malcolm. We also met off a rather well-known website (I think online dating is bloody amazing), though nothing has ever happened between us. I made a rather disparaging remark today. I hope it put him off completely.

The One: Where to begin? His name. Right. Um… Victor. Tall, dark and handsome. Or that’s how I see him. We met off an actual dating website. (Yes, this is quite a trend with me) I’d like to believe I am in love… it’s probably lust. We’ll see. We can talk. We can shag. We can argue. We can cuddle. We … I should really stop using we. I’m tired of having my heart broken into a million little pieces.

The crush: Warren is such a cute boy. We work together, or rather, we work at the same company. I’ve been crushing on him for the last couple of months. I doubt anything much will happen, but it is nice to dream, isn’t it? He’s so very cute. But young. My age. I’m sure I’ll have to hand in my Cosmo-girl badge if I date/shag him?

The one I never had: Doomed from the start. I sort of cheated on Toby with Nick. We made a great couple (in looks, only) but he was just not ready for any type of commitment. Divorced, 2.2 kids, a dog, et cetera. We didn’t have much in common but I often wonder if it could’ve worked out…

4 Responses to “Naming and shaming”

  1. Richard Says:

    It seems that everyone has had an “ex.” I’ve always thought I was alone in the on-off-on-off format I seem to keep with her. I’m glad there’s someone out there with the same sort of experience!

  2. callith Says:

    No, you’re not the only one. A very good friend placed an embargo on our friendship until I kicked Toby out… She should have done it a long time ago.

    Two more friends are in dead-end relationships. We’re too afraid to put ourselves out there, for fear that we aren’t attractive enough and won’t find someone else who can love us. Oy, this is fuel for another blog post!


  3. […] 3, 2008 “I hate men, they’re so fickle” I told Malcolm. “Now, why ever do you say that? We’re not fickle, you just attract losers.” I […]


  4. […] Gareth called me some weeks ago.  I was surprised to hear from him again. We haven’t really been in contact and he rarely responds to my sms’s. […]

Leave a Reply

