Coloured in the city

17/12/2007

There is something that has been bugging me for a couple of years, especially after I moved out of my mom’s house: people think I’m not coloured enough.

Some part of me want to flaunt that otherness, another part of me just wants to cringe and seek redemption. The latter half (or perhaps only 36%?) is urging me to get in touch with my roots. What does that really mean for a semi-urban coloured girl? Should I move into a coloured neighbourhood? Should I merely seek out other coloureds, and hang out with them, regardless of whether I find them interesting enough? Or should I do both and say to myself “Screw it, let’s do it?”

After a bit of soul-searching, I made a decision today. I decided I shall move into a different neighbourhood. It will be my atonement in a way. In other, different ways, it will give save me money (rent should be cheaper) and I could get to know my neighbours once more, perhaps even borrowing some sugar from them when mine is finished. Yes, I know I’m being naive… I’ll probably brush up on my Afrikaans again, depending on which neighbourhood I choose in the end.

Or I could just stay here and be the fabulous coloured in the city girl that I’ve always been. Tough choice.

Leave a Reply

